Setting up and Managing your RealVNC Connect Team

Follow

You can manage all your remote computers with cloud connectivity enabled, and the people permitted to access those computers, online in the RealVNC Connect Portal.

We’ll automatically create a team for each RealVNC Connect subscription you have. If you have more than one subscription, you’ll have more than one team; use the online picker to switch between them:

team_switcher_open.png

These teams are completely separate. When you sign in, please make sure you are working with the right team.

Changing your team's name

The name of your team can be changed under the Team Management page, if you are the team Owner, Admin or Manager.

 

mceclip0.png

Adding a remote computer to your team

Adding a remote computer to your team means enabling online licensing and cloud connectivity (optional for subscriptions with direct connectivity) for that computer. You can see the computers in your team on the Computers page of the RealVNC Connect Portal:

cloud-connectivity-check-team-online.png

To add a remote computer to your team, simply download and install RealVNC Server. You will be prompted for your RealVNC Account details during installation and these will be used to apply the subscription. For more information on applying your subscription, please see Licensing RealVNC Connect.

Please note that you will only be able to license RealVNC Server using the subscription owner's RealVNC account details by default, however, you can promote team members to grant them the ability to license RealVNC Server on the subscription owners behalf.

Renaming a computer in your team

You rename a computer as it appears in your Team and RealVNC Viewer on the Computers page of the RealVNC Connect Portal. To rename a computer, click the blue pencil next to the computer, enter the name name and then click the blue tick:

mceclip0.png

Removing a computer from your team

Removing a computer from your team means disabling online licensing and cloud connectivity for that computer:

  • This means the computer will no longer be remotely accessible using a cloud connection; you will need to make a desk-side visit to enable it again.
  • If your subscription includes offline licensing and direct connections, you may still be able to establish direct connections to the computer (depending on the network).

You can remove a computer from your team using one of the methods shown below.

Using the RealVNC Connect portal

To remove a remote computer you’ve previously added to your team:

  1. Sign in to the RealVNC Connect Portal.
  2. Navigate to the Device Access -> Computers section.
  3. Locate the computer and choose Remove from team from the ... menu.

Team members will no longer be able to establish cloud connections to this computer. You can now uninstall RealVNC Server, install it on a different computer, and apply your subscription there instead.

If you have a subscription that includes direct connectivity, people can still establish direct connections to the computer. To prevent this, make sure you uninstall RealVNC Server.

Using the command line

Run the appropriate command (below) on the computer to be removed from the team.

Windows

"C:\Program Files\RealVNC\VNC Server\vncserver.exe" -service -leavecloud

Note: the command must be run with Administrator privilege.

Mac

sudo /Library/vnc/vncserver -service -leavecloud

Linux

sudo vncserver-x11 -service -leavecloud

Using API Access

If you have access to the API Access feature, you can remove computers from your team using a REST API. For more information about API Access feature, please see API Access - API documentation and example scripts

Adding a person to your team

You can invite people you trust into your team by clicking the Invite people button on the People page of the RealVNC Connect Portal.

Each invitee receives an email; they should follow the instructions to create their own RealVNC account, and when they do you’ll see them appear in the list of users on the People page:

team-people-list.png

For an in-depth guide on inviting users, please see How do I invite people in to my team to share remote access?

If your subscription includes it, we recommend mandating that every team member enables 2-factor authentication.

By default, a new team member:

Removing a person from your team

You can remove a person from your team on the People page of the RealVNC Connect Portal.

team-remove-person-menu.png

This person will no longer be able to see the team or connect to any of that teams computers. In most circumstances, there’s no further action to take. However if you:

  1. Have a subscription that includes direct connectivity
  2. Have installed RealVNC Server on a particular remote computer
  3. Only establish direct connections to that computer

...then you should additionally remove the person from the list of registered RealVNC Server users for that computer. Until you do, this person will still be able to establish direct connections.

You cannot remove the team owner. Contact us if you need to change ownership.

Promoting people to help manage the team

You can promote team members to help you manage the team, which may be useful if there are many computers and people in the team.

Each person you invite has a role.

For information on roles, see Can I promote people to help administer my team?

You can change roles on the People page of the RealVNC Connect Portal.

Restricting remote computer access to certain people

You can divide responsibility for remote computers among the people in your team by assigning discovery permissions on the Computers page of the RealVNC Connect Portal.

*There’s no way to bypass our discovery service. If a team member does not have permission to discover a particular computer, they cannot possibly establish a cloud connection to it.

You can assign permissions to an individual computer:

team-computer-individual-discoveryperms.png

Remove the default Everyone in the team permission and select + Add a person or group of people to explicitly name team members:

team-computer-everyone-permission.png

*Those not explicitly named will be denied access. If there’s no-one in the list, the computer will be inaccessible.

Alternatively, you can group computers together on the Computers page and then assign team members to groups, if it makes it easier. You can even create groups of people on the People page and then assign people groups to computer groups on the Computers page.

Was this article helpful?
17 out of 60 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Article is closed for comments.