Setting Up a Remote Access Team Online

Follow

You can manage all your remote computers with cloud connectivity enabled, and the people permitted to access those computers, online. Sign in to your RealVNC account.

*You cannot manage your team online if you have an Enterprise subscription and only establish direct connections.

We’ll automatically create a team for each VNC Connect subscription you have (Home, Professional, Enterprise). If you have more than one subscription, you’ll have more than one team; use the online picker to switch between them:

../_images/faq-teams.png

These teams are completely separate. When you sign in, please make sure you are working with the right team.

Adding a remote computer to your team

Adding a remote computer to your team means enabling cloud connectivity for that computer:

You can see the computers in your team on the Computers page of your RealVNC account:

../_images/cloud-connectivity-check-team-online.png

Removing a computer from your team

Removing a computer from your team means disabling cloud connectivity for that computer:

  • For a Home or Professional subscription, this means the computer will no longer be remotely accessible; you will need to make a desk-side visit to enable it again.
  • For a Enterprise subscription, you may still be able to establish direct connections to the computer (depending on the network), though note removing a computer may have licensing implications.

You can remove a computer from your team on the Computers page of your RealVNC account:

../_images/cloud-connectivity-remove-team-online.png

*If you have an Enterprise subscription, you can also remove a computer at the command line.

Adding a person to your team

You can invite people you trust into your team by clicking the Invite people button on the People page of your RealVNC account.

Each invitee receives an email; they should follow the instructions to create their own RealVNC account, and when they do you’ll see them appear in the list of users on the People page:

../_images/team-people-list.png

If you have an Enterprise subscription, we recommend mandating that every team member enables 2-factor authentication.

By default, a new team member:

Removing a person from your team

You can remove a person from your team on the People page of your RealVNC account:

../_images/team-remove-person-menu.png

You cannot remove the team owner. Contact us if you need to change ownership.

Promoting people to help manage the team

You can promote team members to help you manage the team, which may be useful if you have a Professional or Enterprise subscription and there are many computers and people in the team.

Each person you invite has a role:

  • User can sign in to VNC Viewer using their own RealVNC account credentials in order to discover and connect to remote computers. This is the default role. This person cannot manage the team.
  • Manager is a User who can additionally sign in online and manage computers, people, permissions, and roles.
  • An Admin is a Manager who can additionally sign in online and add capacity and renew subscriptions.
  • The Owner is you. You can do everything, including managing payment methods and changing billing address for all the teams you own.

You can change roles on the People page of your RealVNC account:

../_images/team-change-role-menu.png

Restricting remote computer access to certain people

If you have a Professional or Enterprise subscription, you can divide responsibility for remote computers among the people in your team by assigning discovery permissions on the Computers page of your RealVNC account.

*There’s no way to bypass our discovery service. If a team member does not have permission to discover a particular computer, they cannot possibly establish a cloud connection to it.

You can assign permissions to an individual computer:

../_images/team-computer-individual-discoveryperms.png

Remove the default Everyone in the team permission and select + Add a person or group of people to explicitly name team members:

../_images/team-computer-everyone-permission.png

*Those not explicitly named will be denied access. If there’s no-one in the list, the computer will be inaccessible.

Alternatively, you can group computers together on the Computers page and then assign team members to groups, if it makes it easier. You can even create groups of people on the People page and then assign people groups to computer groups on the Computers page.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 2 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.