Yes, once the session has been elevated. Elevation only applies when controlling Windows computers.
By default, the technician connects as a standard user. This means that as soon as the Windows UAC prompt is shown, or a privileged application runs, the technician loses the ability to control the screen. The end user must acknowledge UAC prompts on the technician’s behalf in order that they may continue.
A technician can elevate by clicking the Elevate permissions button on the VNC Viewer session toolbar:
...and then either:
- Requesting that the user enters their administrative credentials (if they have them).
- Entering their own system administrative credentials, in a scenario where the technician has an administrator user account on the remote computer.
Subsequently, the technician is granted administrative permissions, can interact with privileged applications, and the end user is not required to acknowledge UAC prompts by proxy.
Note if the technician intends to lock or log out the current user, or reboot the remote computer, it’s particularly important to elevate first.
Elevation is not available if the end user runs the On-Demand Assist application within a Remote Desktop (RDP) session.